| | | |

Peter Delfyett wins the 2020 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award

Delfyett 20161104Dr. Peter Delfyett, former NSBP President and NSBP fellow, is the 2020 winner of the William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award. The William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award was established to recognize an exceptional single scientific contribution which has had a significant impact in the field of lasers and electro-optics in the past ten years. Dr. Delfyett has been selected, "For pioneering contributions to semiconductor diode based ultrafast laser science and technology." The Award is endowed by Xerox Corp and Spectra Diode Labs. The Award consists of an honorarium of $2,500 and a medal. The presentation is made at the IEEE Photonics Conference.

Dr. Delfyett is Pegasus Professor and Trustee Chair Professor of Optics, EE & Physics in CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, and is currently serving as the Director of the Townes Laser Institute at the University of Central Florida. He is a Fellow of the APS, IEEE, NAI, NSBP, OSA, and SPIE.  He is also the recipient of the NSF PECASE Award, the APS Edward Bouchet Award, the 2014 Medalist from the Florida Academy of Science, and the 2018 Townsend Harris Award.  He has over 750 scientific publications in refereed journals and conference proceedings and 43 US patents. 

Congratulations Dr. Peter Delyett on this tremendous award.

Learn more about this award and its previous winners.