| | | |

2019 group picture

Nearly four hundred students, professionals, and exhibitors descended on Providence, Rhode Island for the NSBP annual conference held November 14-17, 2019. The theme of this year's conference was "Promoting Professional Connections and Persistence in Physics".

The National Society of Black Physicists annual meeting is the largest meeting of African-American physicists in the world. The annual meeting has historically served as a time for scientists at all professional levels to come together, learn from each other, build collaborations and professional relationships, and inspire the next generation of physicists. The attendees were treated to dynamic plenary speakers impressing upon them the importance and widespread application of physics in our world. Our plenary speakers included Dr. Jami Miller, Dr. Julianne Pollard-Larkin, Dr. James Simons, Dr. Sylvester James Gates, Jr., and Dr. Brian Keating. This year, the annual meeting was held in conjunction with the 2019 Physics Congress (PhysCon) held by the Society of Physics Students. These simultaneous meetings allowed for our undergraduate students to get the benefit of attending both conferences.

You can view all the pictures from the conference by clicking here.


Conference Sponsors

We would like to extend a special thanks to our sponsors that helped to make this conference a success.

  • Event Sponsors
    • Associated Universities, Inc. (AUI)
    • National Science Foundation
    • Brown University
  • Gold Sponsors
    • Corning
    • Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Bronze Sponsors
    • Notre Dame Physics
    • American Institute of Physics (AIP)
    • Society of Physics Students (SPS)
    • IEEE Photonics
    • National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO)
    • Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB)
    • National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL)
    • Morgan State University

Student Research Awards

NSBP has historically given out awards to outstanding student researchers for their oral and poster presentations at the conference. The research awards are separated by research groups within NSBP. Congratulations to this year's winners!!

 NSBP 2019 Student Research Award Winners
Student Name Undergraduate / Graduate Award Name / Type University Sponsor
Emmanuel Aneke Undergraduate NPP Poster Georgia Institute of Technology Brookhaven National Laboratory
Gabrielle Moss Graduate  NPP Oral University of the Sciences Brookhaven National Laboratory
Asia Parker Undergraduate NPP Poster Duquesne University Brookhaven National Laboratory
Katheryn Kornegay Undergraduate CMMP Poster Pomona College Brown University
Amber Lenon  Graduate CGR Oral West Virginia Brown University
Melia Kendall Graduate CMMP Oral North Carolina State Brown University 
Michael Parrish Undergraduate POP Poster Morehouse Corning

Benson Frimpong
Joseph Daafour

Graduate POP Poster Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Corning
Jordan Kemp Graduate POP Oral University of Chicago Corning
Courtney Carter Undergraduate Astro Poster Grinell College NRAO
 Kevin Floyd Undergraduate CBP / MED Poster Morehouse College FRIB / NSCL
 Gregory Taylor Graduate CBP / Med Poster Rowan University IEEE
Kenneth Ochieng Undergraduate PER Poster Pomona College AIP / SPS
Joshua Samba Graduate CMMP Poster Morgan State University IEEE
Milani Hernandez Graduate EPSS Poster University of Tampa  Notre Dame Physics